

### CURRICULUM PROCEDURES REFERENCE MANUAL

# SECTION 18

## **College Service Area**

Assignments

#### Section 18

#### SERVICE AREA ASSIGNMENTS

#### Philosophy

Service areas were established to regulate the offering of courses by colleges in specific geographic areas in order to eliminate duplication of services by different colleges in the same area. The assignments do not regulate or establish attendance areas. Citizens may enroll in any course at any college they choose.

#### Purpose

The purpose of service area assignments is to assign specific geographic areas for all colleges, assigning the authority and responsibility for providing courses in a county other than the one in which the college is located. Level-One Instructional Service Agreements (ISA) should be utilized when a college is requesting permission to deliver curriculum course(s), a curriculum program or continuing education courses into another college's service area. These agreements do not involve the sharing of resources or FTE. Additional information about Level-One ISAs is located in Section 6 of the *Curriculum Procedures Reference Manual*.

#### Service Area Assignments

The procedure for assignment of service areas to colleges for providing education and training services is provided through 1A SBCCC 300.2. The actual State Board of Community College assignment of college service areas is listed 1A SBCCC 300.3 and is duplicated below.

Note: See Special Provisions (1-4)

Institution Alamance CC	<u>Service Area</u> Alamance County
Asheville-Buncombe CC	Buncombe and Madison Counties
Beaufort County CC	Beaufort, Hyde, Tyrrell, and Washington Counties (4, 5)
Bladen CC	Bladen County
Blue Ridge CC	Henderson and Transylvania Counties
Brunswick CC	Brunswick County
Caldwell CC and TI	Caldwell and Watauga Counties
Cape Fear CC	New Hanover and Pender Counties

Institution Carteret CC	<u>Service Area</u> Carteret County
Catawba Valley CC	Alexander and Catawba Counties (2)
Central Carolina CC	Chatham, Harnett, and Lee Counties
Central Piedmont CC	Mecklenburg County
Cleveland CC	Cleveland County
Coastal Carolina CC	Onslow County
College of the Albemarle	Camden, Chowan, Currituck, Dare, Gates, Pasquotank, and Perquimans Counties
Craven CC	Craven County
Davidson-Davie CC	Davidson and Davie Counties
Durham CC	Durham and Orange Counties
Edgecombe CC	Edgecombe County
Fayetteville TCC	Cumberland County
Forsyth TCC	Forsyth and Stokes Counties
Gaston College	Gaston and Lincoln Counties
Guilford TCC	Guilford County
Halifax CC	Halifax and Northampton (Townships of Gaston, Occoneechee, Pleasant Hill, and Seaboard) Counties
Haywood CC	Haywood County
Isothermal CC	Polk and Rutherford Counties
James Sprunt CC	Duplin County
Johnston CC	Johnston County
Lenoir CC Service Area Assignments	Greene, Jones, and Lenoir Counties Rev. 01/15/19, 4/26/21, 6/18/21, 6/24/21 18-2

Institution Martin CC	<u>Service Area</u> Bertie (Townships of Indian Woods, Merry Hill and Windsor) and Martin Counties (1,4,5)
Mayland CC	Avery, Mitchell, and Yancey Counties
McDowell CC	McDowell County
Mitchell CC	Iredell County (2)
Montgomery CC	Montgomery County
Nash CC	Nash County
Pamlico CC	Pamlico County
Piedmont CC	Caswell and Person Counties
Pitt CC	Pitt County
Randolph CC	Randolph County
Richmond CC	Richmond and Scotland Counties
Roanoke-Chowan CC	Bertie (Townships of Colerain, Mitchells, Roxobel, Snakebite, Whites, Windsor [continuing education courses only] and Woodville) Hertford, Northampton (Townships of Jackson, Kirby, Rich Square, Roanoke, and Wiccacanee) Counties (1)
Robeson CC	Robeson County
Rockingham CC	Rockingham County
Rowan-Cabarrus CC	Cabarrus and Rowan Counties
Sampson CC	Sampson County
Sandhills CC	Hoke and Moore Counties
South Piedmont CC	Anson and Union Counties (3)
Southeastern CC	Columbus County
Service Area Assignments	Rev. 01/15/19, 4/26/21, 6/18/21, 6/24/21 8-3

18-3

Institution Southwestern CC	Service Area Jackson, Macon, and Swain Counties
Stanly CC	Stanly County
Surry CC	Surry and Yadkin Counties
Tri-County CC	Cherokee, Clay, and Graham Counties
Vance-Granville CC	Franklin, Granville, Vance, and Warren Counties
Wake TCC	Wake County
Wayne CC	Wayne County
Western Piedmont CC	Burke County
Wilkes CC	Alleghany, Ashe, and Wilkes Counties
Wilson TCC	Wilson County

#### SPECIAL PROVISIONS

- Bertie County is divided between Roanoke-Chowan CC and Martin CC as stated in the service area assignments. In the case of offering courses within the town or township of Windsor, Martin CC has exclusive authority for offering curriculum and adult basic education courses, and both Martin CC and Roanoke-Chowan CC are authorized to offer other continuing education courses.
- 2. Catawba Valley CC is authorized to continue offering the furniture training program at the Iredell Prison Unit. This exception shall be re-examined periodically by the State President with his findings reported to the State Board.
- 3. South Piedmont CC is a multicampus community college authorized to serve Anson and Union Counties.
- 4. On August 21, 2015, the State Board designated all of Washington County in the service area of Beaufort County Community College effective beginning the Fall 2015 academic semester pursuit to Session Law 2015-167 (HB 390). (See previous provision #7; now #5.)
- 5. Martin CC is authorized to offer in Washington County all adult basic education, adult high school/GED, fire training and emergency medical training and in-plant training.