## State Board of Community Colleges Mr. Thomas Looney, Chair



# Nomination Instructions for the 2024 President of the Year Award Funded by Wells Fargo

**Dr. Jeff Cox**System President

### **President of the Year Award**

Please develop a narrative, not to exceed <u>eight</u> pages, which addresses each of the following ten selection criteria. Note, narratives longer than eight pages may be disqualified. Format the narrative to address criterion and number as below to address the selection criteria. Emphasis should focus on the past "three years" but may include on-going projects that may have happened before the three years. The narrative must be formatted to address each of the individual criteria.

#### **Background**

The President of the Year Award, sponsored by Wells Fargo, was established by the State Board of Community Colleges in 2001. This award encourages, identifies, and rewards outstanding leadership and commitment to the community college mission among the presidents of the 58 institutions of the North Carolina Community College System.

#### **Nomination Process**

Anyone, including the president of the institution, may submit a nomination. Only one nomination per college may be submitted.

#### **Eligibility**

Any current president of an institution at the time of the award within the North Carolina Community College System is eligible, with the exception of past award recipients\*.

#### Selection Criteria – Demonstration or examples of:

- 1. Outstanding accomplishments in leading the institution in workforce education and economic development.
- 2. Strong commitment to expansion and improvement of services through technology and other innovations. Attention should be given to how well current technology and existing resources are being integrated into the campus community.
- 3. Commitment to and effective use of partnerships with business and industry, public schools, other community colleges, and four-year institutions.
- 4. Demonstrate commitment to professional growth for faculty and staff.
- 5. Promotes and demonstrates commitment to appropriate representation of diverse college and community populations in the work of the college.
- 6. Effective advocacy for his/her institution and the North Carolina Community College System at the local and state level.
- 7. Contributions of time and expertise to community, regional, and national organizations.
- 8. Effective leadership in supporting and carrying out long-range planning and goal setting for the college.
- 9. Innovation in program development and implementation which becomes a model for the North Carolina Community College System, or which meets a unique community need.
- 10. Overcoming human resource and financial barriers in improving the delivery of services in relation to the size of the institution.

The narrative should expand and focus on specific examples which demonstrate your <u>nominee's</u> <u>personal commitment and unique accomplishments</u> to his or her campus and to the community college experience. Quantifiable evidence of actual results is important in the selection process, not that one just serves on a committee or is a member of a particular civic organization. Please do not submit pictures, videos, portfolios, etc. Supplemental materials will be limited to letters of support focused on selection criteria (not to exceed five that can come from internal and external individuals).

Job descriptions and a current personal vita with dated information may be included (not to exceed three pages).

#### **Selection of Award Recipient**

A single award is bestowed in each calendar year. The award recipient will receive a cash prize of \$8,000 and a plaque. In addition, the recipient' foundation will receive a cash prize of \$2,000.

The recipient will be chosen by a committee which will include various stakeholders within the North Carolina Community College System. The committee will recommend their top selection, based on written nominations and interviews, to the State Board at the January 2024 Board Meeting.

#### **Submission Instructions**

Email nomination packet to: SBCC Awards (<a href="mailto:sbccawards@nccommunitycolleges.edu">sbccawards@nccommunitycolleges.edu</a>) no later than October 13, 2023, to be eligible. No hard copies will be accepted.

<u>Note:</u> All electronic submissions must be sent as a pdf file with the following file name format: collegename\_awardname\_year.pdf

(Example: AlamanceCC\_Presidentaward\_2024.pdf)

#### \*PREVIOUS WINNERS OF THE PRESIDENT OF THE YEAR AWARD

- Dr. Donald W. Cameron of Guilford Technical Community College
- Dr. Tony Zeiss of Central Piedmont Community College
- Dr. Kenneth A. Boham of Caldwell Community College & Technical Institute
- Dr. Edward H. Wilson, Jr., of Wayne Community College
- Mr. K. Ray Bailey of Asheville-Buncombe Technical Community College
- Dr. Gordon G. Burns, Jr., of Wilkes Community College
- Dr. Donald L. Reichard, Jr., of Johnston Community College
- Dr. Stephen C. Scott of Wake Technical Community College
- Dr. William C. Aiken of Sampson Community College
- Dr. Patricia A. Skinner of Gaston College
- Dr. Mary Rittling of Davidson County Community College
- Dr. Robert Shackleford of Randolph Community College
- Dr. Steve Thornburg of Cleveland Community College
- Dr. Garrett Hinshaw of Catawba Valley Community College
- Dr. Lawrence L. Rouse of James Sprunt Community College
- Dr. David Shockley of Surry Community College
- Dr. Stelfanie Williams of Vance-Granville Community College
- Dr. Carol Spalding of Rowan-Cabarrus Community College
- Dennis King of Asheville-Buncombe Technical Community College
- Dr. Jason Hurst of Cleveland Community College
- Dr. Laura B. Leatherwood of Blue Ridge Community College
- Dr. Mark Poarch of Caldwell Community College and Technical Institute.